Books

Book Review: Deception Point

Deception PointTitle: Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Genre: Thriller
Publication date: 2001

Plot:
When a NASA satellite discovers an astonishingly rare object buried deep in the Arctic ice, the floundering space agency proclaims a much-needed victory — a victory with profound implications for NASA policy and the impending presidential election. To verify the authenticity of the find, the White House calls upon the skills of intelligence analyst Rachel Sexton. Accompanied by a team of experts, including the charismatic scholar Michael Tolland, Rachel travels to the Arctic and uncovers the unthinkable: evidence of scientific trickery — a bold deception that threatens to plunge the world into controversy. But before she can warn the president, Rachel and Michael are ambushed by a team of assassins. Fleeing for their lives across a desolate and lethal landscape, their only hope for survival is to discover who is behind this masterful plot. The truth, they will learn, is the most shocking deception of all.

My impression:
First of all, I had no idea that the genre of this book is thriller. I still don’t know why is it, probably because of the too many kills in it.
However, I can say that this is very interesting book. When I started it I thought that it won’t be that interesting, even though the librarian told me that everybody said that this is the best book, written by Dan Brown. Till now I had read only “The Da Vinci Code” by him an it was totally different story. But I decided to give a chance to the book and continued to read. And now I can confirm – this is real masterpiece. I liked it a lot. Full of complicated connections, different kinds of people, different ideals. All the characters have an important role even though you may not think like this.
Two of the characters took my attention, even though they weren’t main. First one is senator Thomas Sedgewick Sexton. He is father of the main character Rachel Sexton and a presidential candidate as well. His unconventionalism and his passion for power are probably the thing – I mean, he don’t even gave a f**k about his daughter. Such kind of people are so common recently that it’s even scary.
Another one is William Pickering – director of the NRO. The methods he used to have what he wants and the ruthlessness in his action were just too much for me. But well, this is thriller, I had to expect this.
However, this book needs an attention and it surely have it. If you wonder if you should read it or not – then don’t. This book is a must to read, especially for people like me, which loves supernatural and fictional books.

Leave a Reply

