Movies

Movie Review: High Strung (2016)

High StrungHigh Strung (2016)

In a city where only the best succeed, two radically talented people from opposite sides of the tracks need to find harmony to achieve their dreams.

RUBY ADAMS is a dancer from the Midwest on scholarship, living her first day in New York City. JOHNNIE BLACKWELL is a British musician, playing for money in the subway tunnels. Ruby’s world is classical and disciplined; Johnnie’s is improvisational and street smart. When a hip-hop battle gone wrong throws these two artists together, they immediately clash but can’t deny it when sparks begin to fly. Their lives quickly get entangled in the pitfalls that come with competing in New York City. With the help of a dynamic dance crew called The SwitchSteps, Ruby and Johnnie must find a way to save Ruby’s scholarship and keep Johnnie from being deported.

In an action-packed extravaganza combining cutting edge hip-hop with contemporary and classical dance, the two must navigate their opposing worlds and prepare for a competition where winning or losing will change their lives forever.

..

.

I am impressed!

Okay, I’m more than impressed. I don’t really watch movies, but this one movie got me from the  first trailer I watched. It was like an instant love!

I liked the plot, I liked the starring actors and actresses, I liked the dances and most of all… I liked the violin and of course the music! Even now, hours after i finished the movie, the melody from the last performance stuck in my head and I’m staying here humming it.

Keenan Kampa was brilliant and I think that she dance really good and probably dance not just for this movie.

johnnieAnd of course, Nicholas Galitzine in the role of Johnnie. I didn’t liked him in the first place, but then (5 minutes after the beginning of the movie xD) he actually fit in the role and I enjoyed his playing – both the role and the violin. I’m not really sure if he can actually play the violin, but he looked so perfect with it. ^^

I’m sure that I’m gonna check his profile in IMDb and will surely watch his other movies.

About the other characters – I really liked Johnnie’s dancers (neighbors). They danced good and all of this was actually inspiring. The teachers was also interesting especially with this Russian names of theirs.

All in all, I’m in love with this movie and I recommend it to every person!

Leave a Reply

